More on Recommending Books

Considering the last post, about recommending books, I thought someone might be interested in an exchange I had with another blogger on this topic. The whole thing started because I wrote to support his statements. I agreed with him! Then he proceeded to take me to task about the books I have reviewed.

The exchange is somewhat typical. This guy doesn’t think of himself as legalistic or even narrow, but his whole attitude is one that focuses on the differences between his views and those of other believers.

The thing that amazed me was his plan to write about these books and the “false teachings” in them – even though he had no intention to read them!!! He says that he is content to accept the reviews of others. I presume that means he would write from those reviews. Fascinating!

Here’s the link: https://www.blogger.com/comment.g?blogID=6043971967398769903&postID=1735327609351526368&page=1

Let me know what you think!

Dave@gracefortheheart.org

1 Comment

Filed under Book Reviews, Legalism

One response to “More on Recommending Books

  1. Dear Pastor Dave,
    I have benefited so much from reading your blog in the few months since I first stumbled across it, that I have decided to read it from the beginning. I wonder how long it will take me to catch up on your more than five years of posts?

    I followed the link in this post to an online conversation you had with a blogger back in 2008. I read with interest the original post and all the comments in that thread.

    Not being a trained theologian myself, many of the points and counterpoints in that old discussion were over my head. When I had finished reading, this scripture came to mind:

    “And I, brethren, when I came to you, did not come with excellence of speech or of wisdom declaring to you the testimony of God.  For I determined not to know anything among you except Jesus Christ and Him crucified. I was with you in weakness, in fear, and in much trembling. And my speech and my preaching were not with persuasive words of human wisdom, but in demonstration of the Spirit and of power, that your faith should not be in the wisdom of men but in the power of God.” ~1 Corinthians 2:1-5 (NKJV)

    I love that scripture!

    Over the years I have read the Bible from cover to cover several times. Which REALLY confused me — there is so much about the Bible I don’t understand! But after experiencing severe religious abuse as a child and as a young adult, followed by years as an agnostic, today I am a sixty-something great-grandmother and I know only one thing for sure: Christ and Him crucified.

    I am so grateful to know that much. 🙂

Leave a Reply

