What are you afraid of?

I have often met Christians who are afraid of the future.  Not just afraid of coming evil days, but the eternal future.  Not just afraid of dying, but afraid of facing the judgment of God.  Why are they afraid?  Because someone told them that they would stand before the judgment seat and give an account of all the sins they have ever done.

Man, wouldn’t that make Heaven great? 😦  I have no idea how long it would take to give an account of each sin I have committed.  To give an account sounds like I would have to explain each one.  I have this image in my mind of watching a video of my life and stopping at each sin so that all of Heaven could see and scold me.  Good grief!

Yet, that’s what some people expect.  They quote verses like Romans 14:12, “So then each of us shall give account of himself to God.”  Sounds pretty bad, doesn’t it?  At least before you realize that the only account I could ever give is to admit that I was a sinner.  That’s simple.  Yes, I did all those things.  Yes, I should be held responsible for them.  I can’t blame anyone.  I have already admitted all of that and that’s why I am so grateful for Jesus!

You see, the truth is that none of us will ever deserve Heaven.  Only Jesus ever lived the perfect life.  But He gave His life to me when He washed away my sins.  My only hope—completely and forever—is in Him.

I truly expect that I will stand before the great throne of God someday and Jesus will look at me and say, “That one’s with Me!”  And what a day of rejoicing that will be!

dave@gracefortheheart.org

Leave a comment

Filed under Freedom, grace, Relationship

Leave a Reply

