Something to think about

I wasn’t planning to post this weekend, it being Thanksgiving and all, but I came across this quote that many of us would find to be true. 

Little evil would be done in the world if evil never could be done in the name of good.  – Marie von Ebner-Eschenbach

How much pain has been caused by people using God’s name?  So much of my correspondence is with people who have suffered at the hands of those who claim to be spiritual.  In fact, more and more are leaving God behind, blaming Him for what His people did.

But what if it couldn’t be that way?  What if no one could cover up his or her evil by claiming good intentions or superior principles?  What if evil was seen simply as evil?

Honestly, I don’ t know what that would be like.  How many of my own evil actions and thoughts do I disguise as righteous or good?  Or how often have I deceived myself into thinking that my motive is good?  Maybe it is mercy that moves the heart of God to allow this. 

Well, something to think about over the weekend….

dave@gracefortheheart.org

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

