What does it mean to “walk with Him”? How do we do that?

I am going to attempt to answer this.  It’s not a simple question, but it is a very good one. 

I would say that walking with the Lord is living in the awareness of His presence and His love.  We have been restored to a relationship with Him that is real and active.  We do not have to be content with the realm of idea and mind, but we actually live in a relationship of the heart with our Lord.  Walking with Him in that sense means living in the reality of His activity and presence and personality. 

The key to understanding our walk with the Lord is in Colossians 2:6.

As you therefore have received Christ Jesus the Lord, so walk in Him

I believe that my salvation was truly a gift from Him and that I had nothing to do with it, either by my performance or by my worth.  All I did, and this was not a “good work”, was accept what He did for me – I took what He gave.  When I read this passage, I understand that my walk is much the same.  It is not about me, but about Him.  The days of my life are lived in the light of what He has done, is doing, and will do. 

So, the Christian who walks with the Lord in this way awakes to the joy of being fully accepted because of Jesus.  Rather than becoming worried about adequate performance, this person submits the day to the Lord and trusts that He will guide and lead and accomplish all that He desires.  Through the day, as life happens, he or she will know that the Lord is active and good.  Interruptions, challenges, pleasures, and all the things that come are seen in the light of the activity, presence, and love of the Lord.  At the end of the day, the person is grateful to have participated with the Lord and gives all results and expectations over to Him.  He or she sleeps the sleep of one who knows true acceptance and security.

Comments?  Questions?

dave@gracefortheheart.org

Leave a comment

Filed under Grace definition, heart, Relationship

Leave a Reply

