Do We Have To Go To Church?

“When a young man who has been going to church in a routine way honestly realizes that he does not believe in Christianity and stops going — provided he does it for honesty’s sake and not just to annoy his parents — the spirit of Christ is probably nearer to him then than it ever was before.”  (C. S. Lewis, Mere Christianity – Let’s Pretend)

Do We Have To Go To Church?

I get this question in various forms quite regularly.  Church has been a place and time of pain for many, especially for those who have been hurt by legalists. Going to church, even when a person is no longer associated with legalists, can bring memories of negative times. Either that or it’s just plain boring. Church is often the time and place where legalism and performance spirituality are reinforced the most in the lives of believers. So what’s the big deal if we miss church? Does it really matter anyway?

Over the next few posts, I will address a few aspects of this question and offer my perspective.  (Heads up: I have told people that church attendance is far less important to the Lord than enjoying a real relationship with Him.) 

Comments?

dave@gracefortheheart.org

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Do We Have To Go To Church?

  1. graceandgiggles

    Uh-oh! Here is one of the burrs under my saddle! Not that I’m a cowgirl, but I’m a non church attender. I tried, just this year. A church being held in a school, so it didn’t quite feel like “church”, if ya know what I mean. I helped in the office a couple of times and BAM! The pastor said some things that created an explosion in my heart and I was done. Haven’t been back since. Ouch…..looking forward to your posts Dave. Thanks!

  2. Looking forward to the series!

  3. Kathy F.

    I am very much looking forward to this series! Last year, after not attending church for a long while, I began attending a local non-denominational church that teaches verse by verse from the Bible. While I do like the teaching, the members are not very friendly – they pretty much stick to their little ‘groups’ – like highschool. And I’m not a wallflower – I do go up and meet people, but they just don’t reciprocate – they are very cool towards me. Maybe I don’t dress well enough? Look stylish enough? So I’m not ‘worthy’ of their time?
    So I usually just watch the services live from my computer at home.
    Again, I am looking forward to this series!

  4. Bill Metzger

    As A pastor of 27 years, I blow people away who tell me that they hate organized religion. I respond by saying,”So do I”. I look forward to this series by David-a man whom God put into my life at just the right time-exactly when I needed this message.

Leave a Reply

