God Does His Thing

     Webster’s says that one of the primary meanings of the word, “weird,” is: “of strange or extraordinary character.”  So what I am about to say I mean with utmost respect and innocence.

God is weird.

     He does strange things, wonderful and unexpected things.  Every once in a while He reminds me that He can make arrangements and accomplish things in or through my life, while keeping me in the dark.  In other words, I don’t really know what’s going on and, in order for great things to happen, I don’t need to know.

     I have had two remarkable incidents in my life recently that illustrate this.  While avoiding too much detail, let me just say that the first involved the death of someone I have known as an acquaintance for a long time.  God, through twists of timing and expectations, used me to minister to the family in a special way.  I had so little to do with the whole thing and the event was so powerful and memorable, that it will probably always be an example of that weirdness with which God does His thing.

     The second happened yesterday.  There was no way I could have planned what happened.  I suppose I could have made some phone calls, twisted some words, manipulated some people—and I could have caused the event to happen.  But it would not have had the effect, the wonder, of what God did.  Again, I will spare you the details, but let it be enough to say that a word of God’s love was heard by a good friend who has been wandering.

     You see, I am learning.  I hope I can remember this lesson in the days to come.  God does His work.  He doesn’t need me.  He apparently takes joy in allowing me to tag along.  He uses me, in spite of the fact that He doesn’t need me, and I am blessed when He does. 

     But that means I don’t have to manipulate or worry or work hard for the ministry to be accomplished.  I don’t actually have to do anything.  The only thing I need to do is stick with Him—tag along as He works.  Only the believer who has tried so hard and has been so frustrated and worn out by trying to live the Christian life or serve the Lord will really understand the relief and freedom this understanding gives.  The burden really is light! 

Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.

Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  

For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.”

Matthew 11:28-30(NKJV)

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “God Does His Thing

  1. Rebekah Grace

    Good stuff! Welcome back!

    I love any story about anyone wandering that hear’s something of God’s love!

Leave a Reply

