Trust in the Lord

Trust in Him at all times, you people; Pour out your heart before Him;

God is a refuge for us.  Psalms 62:8

 

Let’s face it: we can’t do it.  We can’t live the Christian life.  We can’t love others the way we should.  We can’t keep the commandments.  We stumble through life, failure after failure, and even the few successes we manage aren’t enough to last or satisfy.  There simply must be something bigger than we are, something that is for us, something that will get us through.  Otherwise, we have no hope.

Now, I don’t believe that the Christian faith is true simply because we would otherwise have no hope.  I believe that God is real and He loves us.  I believe that He is the Creator and Sustainer of life.  I believe that there is plenty of evidence, concrete facts and information, for me to trust Him.

I talk a lot about trusting the Lord.  It isn’t easy for me to just trust Him and I doubt that it is easy for you.  Life gets complicated and even scary.  I forget and I slip back into trying to trust myself or somebody’s idea of a system that might work.  When I fail again or find that the system was just like all the rest of the systems, then I remember that I can trust the Lord.

When the disciples watched everyone leave Jesus, He turned to them and asked if they would also leave Him.  They gave one of the most honest and powerful answers I have ever heard for continuing in the faith.  “Lord, to whom shall we go?”  There’s no one else.  There’s nothing else.  You are it, or there’s nothing.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, And lean not on your own understanding;   Proverbs 3:5

So we really have no choice.  After all, what else is there?  Crystals?  Astrology?  Other religions?  Some kind of self-centered philosophy?  No, there’s only One who tells me He loves me and will take care of me.  And every time I get a hint of His greatness, every time I see His hand at work in my life, every time I realize—even just a little bit—that He really is trustworthy, that’s the cream on the top.  Those times are so amazing, so encouraging, that I finally get a sense of rest.

So what are we supposed to do under grace?  If we are not supposed to run around in frustration trying to keep the law or do enough good to get noticed, then what is left for us?  Trust in the Lord!  Believe me, trusting Him is far from passive.

Every once in a while, I sit down and utter a prayer: “Lord Jesus, it’s you or it’s nothing.  I have nothing else.  Thank you for being enough.”

Whenever I am afraid, I will trust in You.
In God (I will praise His word), In God I have put my trust; I will not fear. What can flesh do to me?  Psalms 56:3-4

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Freedom, grace, Grace definition, heart, Relationship

One response to “Trust in the Lord

Leave a Reply

