What’s the bottom line?

Recently I had reason to stop and summarize the message of my ministry.  That’s good thing for anyone to do from time to time.  It’s easy to get off message.  There are many things pulling for our attention, good and important things, but those things may not be the message the Lord has given to me.  Theological disputes, counseling topics, even aspects of the grace message—can all become distractions so easily.

When I began the ministry of Grace for the Heart, I was hurting.  In fact, I was reeling from betrayal of friends, from abandonment by a system into which I had invested a great deal, and from personal and family loss.  There was one message in my heart and only that message got me through those days: Jesus is enough!

Jesus is enough.  Perhaps that’s what grace means to me, when everything else is stripped away.  Jesus is enough to save me.  Jesus is enough to get me through.

I knew so many people who called themselves believers but doubted that Jesus was enough.  They were bound up by performance standards and expectations and their fear and comparisons caused them to hurt others.  Inside, they were compromised and worried.  They knew they weren’t measuring up, but they had no hope.  I wanted to help them.

And, I believe that the Lord has used me to help.  Many thousands of people have come to the website (www.gracefortheheart.org) even though it is simple and not particularly attractive.  We have logged visitors from 167 different countries.  Hundreds have sent emails with questions or requests for prayer and counsel.  Some have even sent financial help, understanding that this is my primary work for providing for my family.  The teachings on grace have been used by others in their ministries and I have no idea how much effect they have had.  All to the glory of God.

No buts.  Everything will continue.  I am just grateful to be used.  I want to be sure that I am staying on message, though.  The bottom line is not teaching that will help people understand narcissism, nor is it even the teaching about grace.  The bottom line is Jesus, and He is enough.

I hope you always read that here.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “What’s the bottom line?

  1. Rebekah Grace

    Regrouping in necessary in any line of work, so good for you for taking some time to stop and do that.

    I see grace here every time I read. If I didn’t, I wouldn’t come by. Many of your posts have changed my perception, not on just life and this walk of faith but Jesus and God’s grace through Him. So, thank you!

  2. Amen.

    Jesus’s works is grace…

    when people know more about Jesus, they will understand grace.
    often times when we preached grace we are persecuted,
    also grace is misunderstood, because people defines it based on dictionaries or their understanding

    awesome Jesus. amazing He is

    grace and peace, more of Jesus

Leave a Reply

