In Christ I have a purpose

Ever wake up in the morning and wonder what it is all about?  Ever sit at a desk or in the car and think that your life is filled with routine and meaningless effort?  Ever think that all the work and all the frustration just isn’t worthwhile?

I have.  Sometimes those feelings just come out of a sense of melancholy, a time when you are tired or down.  Sometimes they indicate an increasing depression that can threaten to rob whatever life you can find in you. 

So, I have something that makes me particularly thankful today.  I am thankful that, in Christ, I have a purpose.  Honestly, I don’t even need to know what it is.  That’s not really the important part.  What’s important is that there is a purpose for my life.  The daily routine, the regular frustrations and work, the seeming fruitless hours of effort—they all have a point.  Not that all those hours are somehow productive or right or good.  Some aren’t.  But the ultimate reality is that my life has a purpose, a part of my Lord’s good plan.

I know that Jesus looks on me and says, “Go ahead, get up.  There is a reason for this day.  Trust me to use you and your time for my purpose.  I am glad that you belong to me.”  He doesn’t have to tell me what it’s all about.  I just need to know that it’s about something.  And it is.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “In Christ I have a purpose

  1. Thank you for that wonderful reminder!

  2. Rebekah Grace

    Dave, thank you for this! I’ve been so busy this week and just now got around to reading this post. It was just what my soul needed and I am grateful! To you for writing it and to Jesus for having a purpose in my seeming purposelessness!

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours!

Leave a Reply

