A Clear Conscience

In another blog, a writer has expressed the difficulty of having a clear conscience before God.  The legalist system promotes the need for a clear conscience, but its focus on sin never allows the person to rest.  Even if a sin is confessed, the self-condemnation that comes from the conscience continues.  For those in the performance system, sins are never really gone.

All of this has me thinking about the conscience.  I appreciate the nudge.  We use words to try to understand what happens in us and in our daily lives.  Those words can become confusing: spirit, soul, mind, heart, conscience, flesh, and more.  We have to define these words before we use them or we will add greatly to the confusion.

So, over the next few posts I will be writing about the conscience.  Some of you might find it very helpful.  I know that beginning to study this has clarified a few things for me.  Watch for more.

But, I never like to leave things hanging.  Nothing will be hurt if I give away the punchline at the beginning.  For those who struggle with conscience, for those who continue to condemn themselves for the things they have done or not done, please remember this truth:  IF WHAT JESUS DID FOR YOU IS NOT ENOUGH, YOU HAVE NOTHING ELSE!

Okay, I put that in caps, underlined it, and ended it with an exclamation point.  I suppose I could have highlighted it, but I think you get the point.  You have nothing to add to what Jesus has done and He has said that your sins are forgiven.  If you don’t believe that, then you will remain under condemnation.  If you believe it, you are free.  It isn’t about your conscience.  It’s about Jesus.

Your thoughts or questions?

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “A Clear Conscience

  1. Rebekah Grace

    It’s about Jesus. Yes sir! Looking forward to the coming posts as I can still struggle with condemnation and such.
    I watched a good video on youtube this morning titled, “Why I love Jesus and not religion – spoken word” The guy said this:
    Religion says do,
    Jesus says done.
    Religion says slave,
    Jesus says son.
    Religion puts you in bondage,
    Jesus sets you free.

    So yeah, it’s about Jesus.

  2. looking forward to your coming great post on “no condemnation”

    🙂

    grace and peace

  3. ryanrunella

    Thank you for your tag back on my article! I love what you wrote here and I’m looking forward to the rest of your series.

Leave a Reply

