You are not what you were

You are different now.

That may be the most practically satisfying fact of the gospel of Jesus Christ.  I know what I was and I am not that any more.  Things have changed.  To be honest, they haven’t changed as much as I would like in the practical, day-to-day, aspects of my life.  I still do dumb things and I still hurt other people sometimes.  I still try to do things my way.  But I know that things are different.

“If any man be in Christ, he is a new creation,” says 2 Corinthians 5:17.  A new creation!  The old is gone and the new has come.  The old was apart from Christ.  The new is in Christ.  Those who are in Christ are “born again.”  But it is a lot more than just a new start and a new chance to “do it right this time.”  No, this new life is a gift from the Lord.  I didn’t earn it.  I didn’t deserve it.  He gave it to me and it is mine to keep.  In fact, He is my new life.

Many things happened when we came to Christ.  The whole of our existence changed.  Who and what we are changed because of Him.  There’s a list of big words, deep ideas, which happened to us.  We are justified, reconciled, redeemed, adopted, regenerated, and more.  All of these things are filled with mystery and wonder.  They may be challenging to understand, but they are worth a little study.  Our God is good to us!

Someplace along the timeline, something radical happened to you and to me.  We found Jesus and He found us.  It was a wonder, a mystery, in so many ways.  We went from being apart from Him to being “in Him.”  And that has made all the difference.

Please feel free to comment and please consider subscribing so you can receive these posts in your email!

1 Comment

Filed under grace, heart, Theology and mystery

One response to “You are not what you were

Leave a Reply

