What sins?

Just for a few moments, stop and pretend with me.  Pretend that you are standing before the Lord, the righteous Judge.  He looks up from behind His judicial bench and asks, “Why are you here?”

You say, “I came to confess my sins.”

He says, “What sins?”

You say, “The sins I did today.  This was a bad day.”

He looks down at His logbook, the book of offenses, and says, “I don’t see anything here.”

You say, “Well, I yelled at my kids, I got angry at other drivers, and I had evil thoughts toward someone at work.”

He says, “I have no record of those things.”

You say, “Well, I guess I confessed them already.”

He says, “Confessed what?”

You say, “My sins.”

He says, “What sins?”

You say, “I don’t understand.  What happened to my sins?”

He says, “I don’t remember.  Why don’t you just live in the joy and freedom I have given you?”

34 . . .  For I will forgive their iniquity, and their sin I will remember no more.” Jeremiah 31:34

4 Comments

Filed under Grace definition, Legalism, Relationship, Theology and mystery, Uncategorized

4 responses to “What sins?

  1. Rebekah Grace

    Okay, so I think you have written on this subject and verse before, but I don’t recall when. I just had a conversation about this very thing with my dad a couple weeks ago. And he points me to 1 John 1:9……”But if we confess our sins to him, he is faithful and just to forgive us and cleanse us from every wrong.”

    I was on the line of thinking that it’s all done. That we don’t have to be in a constant state of confession. Then he points me to this verse, and as usual….I think I’m all wrong, I couldn’t know a thing, he’s the one with all the training and knowledge and years of teaching.

    So, how does one reconcile your amazing post and this verse?

    • This one is deeply ingrained for most of us. Part of that is the fear that’s usually connected. If we confess, then we will be forgiven. But what if we don’t? So we had better, right? The alternative is remaining in our sin.

      But that certainly does not sync with the gospel of grace. We are not in our sins, so would we go back to them? Would we lose our salvation simply by forgetting to confess a sin? And, let’s face the truth, we do forget. Someone has said that we do not remember the tenth part of our sins. So, I suppose we think we can cover them all just by a rote prayer of, “Please forgive all my sins.” But what if we forget that at the end of the day? What if we die with unconfessed sin? This is easily pushed to both the ridiculous and the terrifying.

      I believe that we did confess our sin when we came to Jesus. I believe this passage is already fulfilled for the believer. Here’s my take on the verse: https://graceformyheart.wordpress.com/2011/04/06/if-we-confess/

      Thanks for asking. I know others are wondering as well. This is one of the more difficult teachings of grace. It is wonderful news, but hard to believe.

      • Rebekah Grace

        Thank you Dave!! I’ve saved that post from June for further ‘chewing’. What you write makes total sense to me, I get rather intimidated andconfused when someone with more ‘knowledge’ tells me something entirely different from what I believe. Thanks again! Such good stuff! Thank You Jesus for ALL You did, do and continue to do in the lives of so many!!

  2. I felt as if this Post was specifically posted for me.

    I have a previous post, somewhat related to this. and I used the word
    “blasphemy”. the readers were terrified, and I didn’t mean to do that.

    after reading this post, I felt so secured.
    It seems martin Luther was right. we need to be reminded of God’s grace everyday, lest we forget.

    -grace and peace

Leave a Reply

