Are You Adopted?

Are all people children of God?  Think carefully before you answer.  When Jesus spoke to the Pharisees in John 8:44 He said, “You are of your father, the devil.”  In fact, just a couple of verses earlier He told them “If God were your Father, you would love me…”  It seems pretty clear that Jesus did not consider the Pharisees to be children of God.

We are all created by God, loved by God, and sustained by God.  The only sense in which we can call everyone a child of God is the unity we share in being human—and in being in Adam.  All people came from the same source.

But those who have come to Jesus for salvation have been adopted into the family of God.  This adoption is an important part of what we have received in Christ.

…to redeem those who were under the law, that we might receive the adoption as sons. Galatians 4:5

We were under the law, condemned and separated from our Lord.  We were not of His family because of sin.  But in Christ we have received “the adoption” as children of God.

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly places in Christ, just as He chose us in Him before the foundation of the world, that we should be holy and without blame before Him in love, having predestined us to adoption as sons by Jesus Christ to Himself, according to the good pleasure of His will, to the praise of the glory of His grace, by which He has made us accepted in the Beloved. Ephesians 1:3-6

What does that mean for us?  It means that we have the right to call God “our Father.”  It means that the life of Christ in us has brought us into a new and living relationship with the Father.  It means that we no longer aspire to be servants, but sons and daughters of the Most High.

Years ago I grumbled against the New International Version because it took the word “sons” (uioi) in a certain verse and translated it as “servants.”  I understood that they wanted to include women in the equation, but they should have used the word “children” rather than “servants.”  Servants are valued and kept on the basis of performance.  Children are valued and kept because of relationship.

You and I have become children of God.  He has reached out to us to bring us to Himself.  We are at home with Him forever.

Comments?

7 Comments

Filed under heart, Relationship

7 responses to “Are You Adopted?

  1. SueM

    This statement jumped out at me today…”Servants are valued and kept on the basis of performance. Children are valued and kept because of relationship.”

    YIKES! You spoke volumes to my experience being in a legalistic church. We were actually encouraged to see ourselves as servants….no wonder I was always under the impression that I needed to perform to please God. After living in a family that impressed that upon me, I jumped to a church that did the same thing.

    You spoke well Dave. While I am learning, or relearning, who I truly am in Christ, you’re words were a revelation to me and made perfect sense.

    Yay! So glad God directed me to your little blog.

    • God is telling you that He loves you! how great is that?

    • joni24walter

      on this subject i struggle with living as a child of God but i view myself living in my sinful position. i am trying shrug it off just dont know how!

      • Joni,

        This is an important comment and I take it seriously. Would you be willing to contact me directly by email? My address is daveatorrisondotnet. Let me know a little more of what you are thinking. Sometimes people find it hard to accept their true position in Christ and relationship with him because of past messages or past struggles. Sometimes it’s because of present accusations or wrong teaching. I would love to help you find the way through this.

  2. sue

    I don’t have a deep comment, about this, just thankful for having a loving heavenly Father who’ll keep me!!
    Thank you for these posts, I read them nearly every day and very much look forward to them. Honestly, though, I don’t care for the narcissistic ones that much, I don’t understand why this is such a big topic I guess.
    Thank you!!
    Enjoying Grace & Love

    • You don’t know how much I appreciate this comment! I have been thinking of ways to separate the narcissism posts from the others. My initial desire was to address the fact that legalism and narcissism are part of the same problem. But I find that I have two reader groups, one for narcissism and one for words of encouragement about God’s grace. There is overlap, of course, but I have suspected that several feel as you have stated. I am also finding that posts that address legalistic thinking by affirming the truth about grace are the ones that resonate with readers.
      So I am learning. Watch for changes!

Leave a Reply

