A Security Blanket?

What is your security?  Yesterday I wrote about how some people see money as a source of security.  Some look to their marriage as a source of security.  Others see family in that way.  Or friends.  Or health.  Or a job.  Or a good neighborhood.  Or a certain country, a certain church, a certain house.  Linus has his blanket.  What do you have?

The need for security resides deeply in the human heart.  We consider it a survival requirement.  I think we were made that way.  Think about it: Humans are born weak and dependent.  We have no choice but to trust someone or something else to provide for us for several years.  That primary uncertainty builds in us a need for security.  We want to know where our next meal is coming from and we want to feel safe.

As we grew, our flesh system learned ways to feel secure.  Some people saw a connection between hard work and security.  Some found security in associations with certain people or organizations.  Others found security in their own abilities.  Then, when those things are taken away, they find themselves in trouble.  What’s even more interesting is that they were never able to find real security because they always knew that person or that organization or those abilities could go away.  So they lived in insecurity because the source of their security wasn’t secure. (Sorry ;))

 

But the Christian’s security will not be found in the things of this world.  The Lord Himself is our security.

 

 The LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer; My God, my strength, in whom I will trust; My shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. Psalm 18:2

 Be my strong refuge, to which I may resort continually; You have given the commandment to save me, for You are my rock and my fortress. Psalm 71:3

 For You have been a shelter for me, A strong tower from the enemy. Psalm 61:3

We believe this, right?  We can trust the Lord, right?  So why do we become afraid?  Perhaps because we still think that these other things offer us security.  There is no security in bank accounts or employers or friends.  Most of us have found that out the hard way.  But there is security in the Lord who loves us.

Looking for security in anything or anyone other than the Lord and His great love opens us to fear and bondage.  There is freedom in not expecting our security from the things of this world.

So, remind yourself that it is only the flesh that calls you back to trusting on these false sources of security—and the flesh is part of the past.  The Spirit leads you to trust the Lord, no matter what is happening around you.

 

. . . Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have called you by your name; You are Mine. When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; And through the rivers, they shall not overflow you. When you walk through the fire, you shall not be burned, Nor shall the flame scorch you. For I am the LORD your God, The Holy One of Israel, your Savior. . . Isaiah 43:1-3

Let the past be past!

Leave a comment

Filed under Freedom, grace, Relationship

Leave a Reply

