So it is true!

Years ago I heard the story of the death of Aldous Huxley, the great skeptic and humanist.  According to the story, the woman who took care of him at the end of his life was with him at the moment of death.  At the very last, he looked off into some vision and said, “So it is true!”

So it is true.  Recently I have had several wonderful answers to prayer.  I confess to being a worrier from time to time. 😉  I tend to anticipate trouble.  Maybe there is a part of me (my flesh, I suppose) that would rather be pleasantly surprised than terribly disappointed.  So I anticipate bad things and am surprised when good things come.  And, again I confess, in those times a little part of me says, “So it is true!”

Perhaps it was the leading of the Spirit that gave the song, Jesus Loves Me, to the children.  Christian children learn that song from the youngest age.  Think about the words:

Jesus loves me, this I know
For the Bible tells me so
Little ones to Him belong
They are weak, but He is strong.
Yes, Jesus loves me!
Yes, Jesus loves me!
Yes, Jesus loves me!
The Bible tells me so.

 

Wow!  Really?  Do you know how many people have written to me telling me that they can no longer find the love of God for them in the Bible?  What happened? 

Well, I will be blunt.  The unbelief of others connected with the natural unbelief of the flesh and the assurance of God’s love was lost.  Satan’s greatest tool is the lie.  The lie says that God has lied.  From the first question presented to Adam and Eve, the goal of the evil one is to cultivate unbelief in our hearts. 

Why are people who remain in their sins called “unbelievers”?  Because that is the only real sin that matters.  The only sin that can separate us from the Lord is unbelief. 

And even believers can miss out on the wonders and privileges of salvation by not believing.  They know the Lord and they trust in His saving work, but they find it hard to believe that He will really provide and protect, sanctify and justify, and everything else. 

Once again, the story of the Exodus is helpful.  Why did the people wander in the wilderness?  Only because of unbelief.

So we see that they could not enter in because of unbelief. Hebrews 3:19

What will it be like when we fully and freely believe?  I guess it will be Heaven!

13 Comments

Filed under grace, Relationship

13 responses to “So it is true!

  1. AlanG

    Wonderful post.

    Years ago I read an account of an interview with theologian Karl Barth. In typical fashion (as these things go), the interviewer asked, “What has been your most profound thought?”. According to this account, Dr. Barth paused and then replied, “Jesus loves me, this I know. For the Bible tells me so”.

    • Barth understood. I don’t agree with all that he taught, but he understood that the center of the gospel, the center of the work of God in our world, was Jesus. It really is that simple!

  2. Kelly

    Great post. God’s love shed abroad in my heart fills me and then I spill my love on others without even thinking about it. Satan loves to get us to think hard thoughts about God, but the Bible never teaches that. Really, Christians have great reason to rejoice and have cheer in any circumstance, because we are loved with an everlasting love. 1Cor 13 – “Love BELIEVES all things..”

  3. they say, it takes a theologian to confuse you.

    • AlanG

      Some old saying or other, having to do with the forest and the trees, comes to mind…(!)

    • Maybe Martha was a theologian!

      41 And Jesus answered and said to her, “Martha, Martha, you are worried and troubled about many things.
      42 But one thing is needed, and Mary has chosen that good part, which will not be taken away from her.” Luke 10:41-42

      The good part is just Jesus, the lover of my soul.

      • AlanG

        I must confess I have never thought about this passage in terms of theological disputes, but I believe you have a great insight here, David. As a past master, since becoming a believer in Feb. 1973, of becoming “worried and troubled about many things”, I can say with assurance that this applies not just to “professional” theologians. Among we “amateurs” also, Satan is quite adept at enticing us to compromise the wonderful simplicity of trust in the finished work of Jesus. How many foolish “rabbit trails” I have been down! But, praise God, the fog is lifting!
        “Jesus, the lover of my soul.” Yes!

  4. Suzanne

    Belief is hard. There are so many obstacles. Does it get any easier?

    • Yes, but I agree with Kelly. It gets better when you realize that you don’t have to come up with belief. In fact, your doubt doesn’t change anything. Sometimes it is just natural. So stop trying to believe enough, just keep your eyes on Jesus. He is enough in every way.

  5. Kelly

    Suzanne if I may share- belief is not only hard it’s impossible. That is the GREAT news. We can never do it, it has to be all of Christ. So what do I mean by that? I pray to the Lord just like in the gospels “Lord, help my unbelief”. I feel led to share a quick testimony. I learned to not worry about obstacles in my life when I lost absolutely everything. I lost my 21 year marriage to his adultery/abandonment, lost my home of 19 years, every dime I had to attorneys, lost my possessions by moving into a tiny apartment, lost my health insurance, my dog had to be surrendered, my church dissolved during this time, I had no job and lost friends and family due to divorce. I can tell you I have “tested” the belief issue. I BELIEVE GOD is able to do abundantly above all that we ask or think and we can REST and rejoice in that assurance. If we can believe in HIS power to live the Christian life in us when everything is shaken loose, than we know what we possess is UNSHAKEABLE.

    • Kelly, there is a blessing in brokenness, even though it hurts. The pain does purify. I suppose it removes the distractions. Some find they have nothing when they are broken. A few, like you, find that Jesus is enough.

      • Kelly

        Thanks Dave, you are right. Jesus is absolutely enough when there is nothing left…and I would have never known that had I not gone through those fires because that precious lesson is engraved in my soul for the rest of my life. I have found my love for others is so huge as a result also. He alone made me better instead of bitter.

Leave a Reply

