Why God Hates Sin

(This blog will be offline for a couple of weeks while I travel.  Please enjoy these posts from the archives.  Feel free to comment or ask questions.  I will be able to respond when I return.)

We need to understand that God sees sin as that which will hurt us.  He doesn’t hate sin because of His purity and holiness.  He is quite pure and holy whether we sin or not.  God hates sin because it hurts the people He loves.  Sin will always hurt us and it may well hurt the people around us.  A sin is an act against the will of God, not against the holiness of God.  If I want to know the will of God, I should go to Him and ask.  There are things He has spoken of in His Word that will always hurt His people.  Adultery, stealing, murder – acting without regard to others in order to satisfy the broken drives of our hearts – these will always be wrong for us.  But what about the other things?  Should I throw my grass clippings over the fence into my neighbor’s field?  My action should be guided by the love Jesus has for my neighbor, love which is reflected in my heart because of my relationship with Him.  Should I allow my 17 year old to work in a secular place?  I would have to ask Jesus about that – and listen for an answer.  Grace teaching means that God has an active interest in our lives and will provide all we need to follow His will.  In other words, He wants to lead us.

Leave a comment

Filed under grace, heart, Legalism, Relationship

Leave a Reply

