Life in Jesus

Romans 6:23 says that the gift of God is eternal life.  If you want to think that eternal life only means living forever, I suppose that’s a verse you could pull out for support.  However, read the verse carefully:

For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.

 

The life you and I have received through the gift of God is the life that is “in” Jesus.  I take that to mean it is His life.  Galatians 2:20 and Colossians 3:4 tell us that the life in us is His:

 I have been crucified with Christ; it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me. Galatians 2:20

When Christ who is our life appears, then you also will appear with Him in glory. Colossians 3:4

It is Jesus who is alive in me and Christ is my life.  My eternal life!  I have no life apart from Him and in Him I have His life.

So, when I came to Jesus, simply to receive what He offered me, I received His life.  I received Him.  Because He is eternal, the life in me is eternal.

But, what does it mean that He is eternal?

Leave a comment

Filed under Theology and mystery

Leave a Reply

