The Grid – Freedom to see

The fifth of five parts:

      So I go back and read Scripture now with these things in mind:

     God loves us.  He wants to give to us.  We are not able to achieve on our own what He wants to give us.  All He wants is for me to love Him and, through Him, to love others.

When I read Scripture that way, it opens up new and wonderful things.  No longer do I see only His anger and my guilt.  Now I see how He has reached out over and over in love to His people.  Sin is no longer the focus of my life or of the Scripture.  There is no excuse for sin, but no guilt for those who are in Christ.  Now I see how trying to live on my own has messed it all up.  I read Scripture with new eyes and new joy.

It is important for God’s people to read His Word.  But it is also important for us to remember that the Scriptures are the Word of the Lord who loves us.  The Lord knows that His Word is often misused.  The Pharisees and other Jewish leaders misused it.  The early Christians encountered false prophets who misused it.  He said that He would guide us into truth personally.  (John 16:13)  In fact, He went farther than that.  He who is the Truth is in us.  He will guide us from within.  (John 1:17; 14:6 and 2 John 1:2)  In Him, and only in Him, we have freedom to see the truth that the Bible presents.

Comments??

(I am traveling these days.  This series of posts was quite popular a couple of years ago.  I hope you find them helpful.  Please feel free to comment as usual.  See you on the other side!  – Dave)

2 Comments

Filed under Freedom, grace, Legalism, Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Grid – Freedom to see

  1. graceandgiggles

    “The Lord knows that His Word is often misused”
    That is a powerful line Dave! Due to my experience, I assume that anyone who has the Bible in their hands is misusing it, so I rarely trust a preacher/teacher. I expect them to preach and teach one thing from their pulpit and live in the exact opposite to that. I would prefer to hang out with them at home with their family than attend their church. Atleast until I see them walking their talk. There have been times in my life when I question the Lord in it all. Like if there was anything to be misused, why His Word? And I’m reminded that there will be wolves in sheeps clothing and it comforts me, as I pray for His guidance and discernment to keep me in Him and His Truth.

  2. It is so sad, isn’t it? There are those who not only will not accept the truth for themselves, but they stand in the way of truth for others. Through their own hypocrisy or cruelty, they push people away from the love and grace of God. And, yes, they often use the Bible to do that. Praise the Lord that the truth is not theirs to withhold and those who seek will find.

Leave a Reply

