What I know about you

 . . . you are loved!

 

It doesn’t matter who you are, what you have done, or what you believe—one thing I know about you is that you are loved.   The message of the Bible is clear and consistent: God loves you.

“Even after what I have done?”  Even before you did it and knowing that you were going to do it!  He knows your failings, your compromises, your weaknesses, and your sins.  He knew it all from the beginning and He has loved you the whole time.  (Romans 5:8)

“Little old me?”  You only think you are insignificant!  The truth is that you are precious to Him and He wants you to be with Him forever.  It is true that God loves the whole world (John 3:16) but He also knows each person intimately and He loves every one.

“But I don’t feel loved.”  I understand that life can be difficult and things don’t seem to work the way they should.  Some people go through a great deal of pain and suffering.  Yet, God is there with love and compassion through the pain.  He never says that He will take us out of suffering.  He says He will walk through it with us.

“I don’t want His love!”  That’s okay.  He still loves you.  You can’t make Him stop, no matter what you do or say.  It doesn’t work like that.  He knows the struggle of your heart, your disbelief, and He is ready whenever you are.  At any moment, when your need is such that you want someone to love you, He will be there.  He won’t force you in any way, but He waits and hopes.  He has always loved you and He draws you with love (Jeremiah 31:3)

It is God’s nature to love you (I John 4:8) and He loved you before you loved Him.

The great theologian was asked to summarize the Christian gospel, the whole truth about our message.  He used words so familiar to us:

“Jesus loves me, this I know.”

1 Comment

Filed under grace, Relationship, Theology and mystery, Uncategorized

One response to “What I know about you

  1. mary gemmill

    I can never hear this msg often enough- when pepole in our lives have the effect of a battering ram- I need to counter-acr it with msgs such as this- may it bless you, also. xoxo

Leave a Reply

