I am Strong

Words of Grace  

Life is filled with challenges.  Sometimes they are battles we have to fight.  Sometimes they are burdens we have to carry.  Sometimes they are fears we have to push through.  And sometimes we don’t know what they are yet.

To face these challenges, we are supposed to be strong.  But what if we are not strong?  What happens then?  What if I look around at all the confusing challenges I face and I feel very weak?  What if I have no idea how I could possibly do what I am expected to do?  Sometimes we don’t feel very strong.

Perhaps you find yourself alone and you feel weak.  Perhaps things are expected of you that you don’t know how to do.  Perhaps others have taken away what little strength you had.  And now you are afraid.  You don’t want to admit it to anyone, but you just don’t see how you can do what you are expected to do.

Once again, the word comes to us from outside.  We don’t have to gather up our strength when it isn’t there.  We don’t have to pretend to be strong.  We don’t have to lie to ourselves or others.  The Lord tells us that we are strong because He is our strength.

David understood this as much as anyone ever has.  He said, in 2 Samuel 22:33, “God is my strength and power.”  How strong are you if God is your strength?  The Psalms are full of affirmations regarding the strength of the believer.  God is our strength.

The LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer; My God, my strength, in whom I will trust; My shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. Psalm 18:2 (NKJV)

 

If the Lord is your strength—and He says He is—then you are strong enough to do all that you must do.  Then your strength is great and will overwhelm your enemies.

Paul understood.

 I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. Philippians 4:13 (NKJV)

 

I am strong.

God is my strength.

I can do anything He calls me to do.

He is my Power

I am strong.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized, Words of Grace

One response to “I am Strong

  1. Thank you for this, Dave. I am heading out tonight to lead a memorial service for a man in my congregation whose final days were a lot like Dad’s. I will hold these words in my heart and mind – and then cry in my car on the way home. God’s timing is perfect!!

Leave a Reply

