I am valued

Words of Grace

What are you worth?  From time to time that question comes up in our lives and it usually hurts.  So many people and things can make us feel devalued or undervalued.

The boss rejects your raise.  The client fails to show up for the appointment.  The friend doesn’t call.  The child won’t talk.  The spouse hasn’t the time.  No one notices your extra effort.  No one cares about your pain.  It isn’t hard to begin to think you have no value.

I have been there.  Work hard and get only criticism.  Work late and no one cares.  Work faithfully and people walk away.  Carry the burdens of others and have no one who walks with you.

Someone once said, “Everybody wants to be somebody to somebody.”  We need to know that someone notices, that someone values us.

You are valued!  There is One who suffered for you because He loved you.  To Him, you are the pearl of great price, the apple of His eye, the treasure of His heart.    God has not forgotten you.  To Him you are very special.

Jesus told His disciples to trust in the Lord.

Are not five sparrows sold for two copper coins? And not one of them is forgotten before God.
But the very hairs of your head are all numbered. Do not fear therefore; you are of more value than many sparrows. Luke 12:6-7 (NKJV)

It may not seem like much to be compared with sparrows, but the point is that God knows you.  He knows all about you and He loves you.  Jesus went to the cross for you.

So, no matter what happens around you, you are valued.  You can shrug off the insensitivity of others by reminding yourself of the truth.  You can stand up and give yourself words of affirmation based on the truth of the Word of God.  He loves you.  He values you.

I am valued.

The God of the Universe loves me.

He has gone to great lengths to reach out and connect with me.

He has forgiven me and welcomed me.

I am valued.

 

4 Comments

Filed under Relationship, Words of Grace

4 responses to “I am valued

  1. UnForsaken

    Pastor Dave, I’ve been looking forward to your article on Value. It is the thing I have troubles remembering, yet what God has carefully been teaching me since I began believing in Him at two. I knew about Him but didn’t think about a personal relationship until I heard Uncle Charlie on the radio saying God cared and it didn’t matter about age. To be valued as a Person by God was a totally new idea!
    Thanks for such great articles, even over your busy holiday celebrations!

  2. Suzanne

    I am so very grateful for these posts on Words of Grace. Strange how my version of Christianity would never allow me to say such things as….I feel what I feel, I am strong, I am good, I am valued. To feel anything but joy was to be in sin, to be strong meant that I was in sinful pride, to be good was an unattainable goal, and value was to be earned. Not only was this my religion but these insidious lies were spoken into my heart by one I trusted. So to hear the good kind words in these posts is like receiving a healing balm on old wounds. It affirms the truths I thought God was whispering in my heart.

  3. Amy

    Thank you. I needed to ‘hear’ that I am valued. I feel alone in my pain. Others don’t experience my mom as I do. I’ve stopped pretending and with my friends, I share my true feelings and experiences. They have a hard time understanding. I know what I experienced growing up. My mom wasn’t there for me. She offered me no compassion or tenderness and instead criticized, neglected and used me. I kept telling myself that if I really needed her, she’d be there. At 30 I had a real crisis in my life and I was forced to face the emptiness in our relationship. I’ve spent the past 10 years thawing out emotionally ( and learning ways to cultivate authentic reciprical relationships). Funny, I thought therapy would teach me to be less affected by her, but I’m experiencing quite the opposite. Now I feel it when she or someone else hurts me. I also feel the pain of her past abuse and mistreatment. Lord, have mercy on me and others who are in pain.

Leave a Reply

