I am Blameless

Words of Grace

 

Okay, it’s a new year.  Everything starts off with a clean slate, right?  The past is gone.  The holidays are over.  Now the work and the life begins again.

Wouldn’t it be something to truly start again?  No debts.  No regrets.  No broken and painful relationships.  Just a chance to start over.  Nothing hanging over us from the past.

Of course, there’s one problem.  If we didn’t remember our mistakes, we would simply make them again.  So we have to allow for growth and change.  Who would want to live the same year over and over, making the same foolish decisions and gathering the same regrets?  Not me!

Someone said, “Good decisions come from experience, and experience comes from bad decisions.”  It isn’t the wisdom we want to get rid of as we begin again, it’s the shame.  The condemnation that comes with our regrets seems to drag behind us like a weight.  We find it so hard to move into anything new because of the anchor we pull.

Yet, the Lord says we are blameless.  He has washed away the guilt and shame of our sins.  We do have that clean slate.  In fact, nothing will ever stick to that slate again.  It will always be clean, because His forgiveness is active in us.  He has set us free from the power and the guilt of sin and He has made us clean.

How much condemnation is there for a believer, even one who sins?  Well, the Scripture says “there is therefore no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus.”  None!  Our slate is clean.

Well, you say, I haven’t kept myself clean and blameless.  I have done wrong things.   Sure, but He has kept you clean and blameless.  He does that for you.  Do you deserve it?  Of course not, but He does it for Himself.  You belong to Him and He takes care of you.

Paul had some hard words for the church in Corinth.  They had compromised and made some foolish and fleshly decisions.  Yet, notice what he says about them.

 I thank my God always concerning you for the grace of God which was given to you by Christ Jesus, that you were enriched in everything by Him in all utterance and all knowledge, even as the testimony of Christ was confirmed in you, so that you come short in no gift, eagerly waiting for the revelation of our Lord Jesus Christ, who will also confirm you to the end, that you may be blameless in the day of our Lord Jesus Christ. God is faithful, by whom you were called into the fellowship of His Son, Jesus Christ our Lord.  1 Corinthians 1:4-9 (NKJV)

 

Why was this true of them, in spite of what they had done?  Because God was faithful.  Not because they were faithful.  God does His work.

So, yes, those who are in Christ are blameless.  That’s God’s assessment, whether you agree or not.  He has done this in you and for you.

Those regrets from the past don’t have to carry any weight in your new year.  Release the anchor that holds you back.  Release even the memories into the hands of the Lord.  He will carry what needs to be carried.  And you can start every day brand new, free and blameless.

 

Through the LORD’S mercies we are not consumed, Because His compassions fail not. They are new every morning; Great is Your faithfulness.
“The LORD is my portion,” says my soul, “Therefore I hope in Him!”
The LORD is good to those who wait for Him, To the soul who seeks Him. Lamentations 3:22-25 (NKJV)

I am blameless.

The Lord has forgiven me.

He has washed my regrets away and healed me.

He keeps me close to His heart.

I am blameless.

2 Comments

Filed under Words of Grace

2 responses to “I am Blameless

  1. prodigalkatherine

    Blameless means that all of the shame the narcissist tries to offload on you (whether based in reality or otherwise) runs counter to Christ’s love.
    My ex told me I was “too damaged to love” when I confronted him about emotionally abusive behavior that included calling my children (with whom he had cultivated relationships with as a father figure) a “liability” to his professional success. He knew how to hit where it hurt.

    He knew that the past traumas I had worked so hard in counseling to process and move forward from that I had shared as part of an intimate relationship had left me with shame. That shame was a very good way to control me and to silence any questions I might have about what appeared to be behavior inconsistent with the Christian words he spoke. Telling me I was “too damaged to understand a healthy relationship” was how he would put me in my place.

    While I do bear personal responsibility to turn from sin patterns- the fact that I have been wounded and made mistakes in the past does not disqualify me from the ability to grow spiritually. It definitely does not make me “too damaged to love”. Yet my narcissist kept me bound with that particular lie because I had fallen into the sin of idolatry when I made his opinion of me the most important one.

    When we allow anyone other than God tell us who we are and what we should do with our lives without getting the much more important second opinion of God’s word, we have fallen into the sin of idolatry and need to be released from that bondage.

    When you are released, then the shame doesn’t stick.

  2. UnForsaken

    Lies seem like the worst kind of bondage. Maybe thelies we believe are horrable, but I feel the lies that we Tell and then Believe are even more binding. My N does this in his mind a lot, and I see it in the people who he likes around. At the beginning of my being honest with myself about him (and many other things – I’st a habit of thinking ), I pledged to myself I would never lie to me again. That meant finding out what was really the truth so I could decide what to believe , and learning how to use logic and read scripture in a new light. It was scarry but freeing!!! It felt like rebellion to think that God could teach me any other way than the N thought best. But in the end, God’s goodness and forgiveness made me realize His grace . I Am blameless in His sight ! And He has continued to show me truth and help me give Him my burdens.

    I’ve never been great with words, so I love being able to share here and grow in that way too. It’s a totally new experience to have a social place to go with listening ears that Believe you. Thanks Dave and Y’all !!!

Leave a Reply

