I am not alone

Words of Grace  

The LORD is your keeper; the LORD is your shade at your right hand. The sun shall not strike you by day, nor the moon by night.    Psalm 121:5-6

 

We just experienced something that reminded us of the presence and activity of God on our behalf.  It was fairly simple, something the world would call a happy coincidence, but we know better.  We believe that God, once again, intervened in a small thing in our lives and revealed His kind hand.

How often does this happen?  Frankly, I don’t know.  I probably miss most of those times.  But I am privileged to see it once in a while, like the shadow or the movement in the woods that tells me my Protector is there.  And, most of the time, that’s enough.  I don’t need to hear His voice or see His face.  I just need to know that He is there.

Do you realize that the continual presence of the Lord on behalf of His people is promised in both the Old and the New Testaments?  Psalm 121 is so clear and so encouraging; and then we have the words of Jesus in Matthew 28:20, “I am with you always!”

He who watches over the sparrows, knows all about you and what you are going through.  He knows your pain and your struggle.  He knows your fear and worry.  He knows and He loves you.  He is with you.

And His purpose will be accomplished in your life.  In the midst of disappointment, distraction, interruption, and failure, you can trust that He is still at work for you.  Even when things don’t go the way you want them to, trust that He knows and He is with you.

I am not alone.

I am not forgotten.

The Lord knows me and loves me.

The Lord is with me.

I am not alone.

11 Comments

Filed under Words of Grace

11 responses to “I am not alone

  1. Penny

    Feeling very alone today, so greatly appreciate this reminder. I am never alone. How very true. thx, Dave.

  2. UnForsaken

    He has ” revealed His kind hand” many times…sometimes I look back and see even more. I would like my hope in Him to be sure, but like today, sometimes I’m disappointed in life and wonder if I was really hoping in Him Or in keeping the “status quo”. I’m asking Him for strength to praise Him at these times.
    A beautiful article, Dave!

  3. Repol

    He used the horror of rejection in great need in my former church to get me out of that dark place and show me that grace wasn’t lived out there. But it hurt so badly, the process of getting to a place to be able to hear grace again.
    I need to remember that, to remember that he was working then, so that I can remember that he is working again, now.
    The friend who I was so invested in and who turned so destructive against me kind of came back, a little, not too close, but speaking about all he had learned about grace in his new church, and how he had to leave home to learn it. And I let my guard down and my optimism back up. He offered me words of grace, which sounded like he was saying he no longer condemned me for having to put up some boundaries to protect myself from his family’s terrible judgment, gossip, and really, near slander of me. But when I asked him, with graciousness and great thanksgiving in advance, if that was really what he was saying about me having the grace to set boundaries around the relationships that had harmed my stability and safety, he exploded in anger again. He is so volatile and unpredictable and changeable. And again today, I am the fool. I have to just realize that the person I thought he was, the person he pretended to be, isn’t real, or is as good as dead or something. I know God doesn’t want me to suffer ongoing abuse. I struggle though with wanting to forgive and open up and believe when the right things are said. But I do feel alone today. I have to make myself remember that he worked good in desperately hard things before. Oh, how long must I take counsel in my own soul?

    • prodigalkatherine

      Repol,
      This individual is not good for you. He uses you for a pick me up and then lashes out unpredictably. That is very N behavior and the opposite of grace. Don’t cast your pearls before swine- in the sense that when you interact with this person, recognize their limitations – it seems that kindness towards you is only present when they are taking. There’s been no evidence of empathy of mutuality.
      Take counsel here with us and know that you are precious. You were created to be in relationship with God and with people who love you and treat your heart with care. My heart breaks for you, sweetie. You are God’s daughter and should be honored by those in your life, not crushed. Hold your head up and wipe your tears away. You are strong. You are generous. You are insightful. You perservere in loving others when they are difficult. You were created for a purpose. You are loved. hugs, sweetie. xoxoxox

  4. Repol

    He is not good for me. It is so true. Even when he’s talking about grace, and offering it to me, it’s with his own conditions attached.
    Thank you, PK. I’m so tired.

    • prodigalkatherine

      Here’s an idea. Take a short “vacation” from him. No need to even tell him. What if you spent that time doing something kind for yourself (take a bath, go for a walk, read a book, go buy a nice candle and listen to music you like). You’ve been so kind to him at your own expense.

      • Repol

        I actually had been doing something like that for the last two months. And really protecting my emotions and any personal information from him. Then a family member of his died (I found out through a friend of a friend, not from him directly) and I heard he had traveled to the funeral, so I texted him to say I was sorry. After that, he seemed to open back up just a little–not a lot–but texting to say hi or to share something he noticed in his Bible studies. I was very careful not to ever initiate (because that’s really when he turns on me–it’s some kind of control thing) and only to respond, and keep it to the content of his Bible study and not about anything personal happening with me. And I really was doing much better when there was nothing personal. So for him to outright offer this “grace for you” personal conversation in email, and then retract it with “except for that case”–SLAM! and “I’m so angry I can’t even love you!” response, that makes me feel like I was set up. I was getting stronger until he initiated conversation that was very personal, and then he immediately used it to make me think I was secure and had relief from a long-held condemnation, and then he took it away again with harsh, angry words.
        I need a long, long, long vacation from him. Like, 50 years, I think. At least 20. Now let’s see… how booked is my calendar for the next 20 years? (Thanks for at least a little glimmer of a smile. No one should be able to make me this unhappy. Clearly I still have some co-dependency issues at work here.)

      • prodigalkatherine

        His treatment is familiar and you have been conditioned to be a caretaker. I totally relate. That’s all I was raised to be too. Finding identity on the other side of that is a challenging task when you have such low self esteem. Part of my healing has come from figuring out that I like to paint. Oil painting is a new hobby that has been very helpful way of “getting out of my head”. Selling paintings has helped me even earn a little money on the side so I can supplement Christmas and Bdays. And I get to keep my favorites! Drawing is awesome too, and requires less supplies- or maybe you like to write- or do needlepoint- just invest in finding some small thing that makes you happy to distract you from the compulsive need to serve others. Creativity is a wonderful release.

        Your heart is precious. Don’t forget that. xoxoxoxox

  5. UnForsaken

    Repol, I can really relate here, as I was/am also a care taker type, fighting the co-dependency in my past. I still have to live with mine, but what PK said about small vacations and,Yes, Hobbies….these do help. When I’m feeling at the end of my mind, I pick up Scripture and music about Something Else. And I pray …for everyone here, for my need for clarity, for old friends and Thank Him for those now gone who I was so blessed to know and their love.
    I’m sending hugs your way too …….and don’t forget how special your thoughts are here and how precious you are in His sight!

    • Repol

      Thank you both so much.
      I am a daughter of the King. It’s so hard to remember that.
      You are both wise and kind. Thank you.

      • UnForsaken

        No, Repol…Thank You! You share what I can’t seem to put into words. Maybe I’m afraid of the vulnerability or just too Tired. We need your wisdom too!

Leave a Reply

