I am okay

Words of Grace 

 

What do you say when you have had a hard week? When things have piled up against you and any one of them seems like too much? Sometimes the most you can say is, “I am okay.”

One of my favorite passages from Paul is in 2 Corinthians 4:

We are hard pressed on every side, yet not crushed; we are perplexed, but not in despair; persecuted, but not forsaken; struck down, but not destroyed—

In other words, it’s been a tough week, but we are okay.

Not destroyed. We may not be able to see hope right now, but we trust it is there. We may not feel great about ourselves or the life around us, but we not in despair. We may not know how all of this will turn out, but we are still looking up.

Most of us don’t need to feel great all the time. We understand that we are in a battle against an enemy. We understand that there is competition for our place in life. We understand that the others around us have crummy days. We understand that society is broken.

I think regular people can take a lot. I know that those of us who have the presence of the Lord and the promise of His everlasting love can take even more. To be okay simply means that we are not destroyed by whatever we are going through. We will not be destroyed because the Lord is with us and will never leave us.

I might not have a smile sometimes, but I am okay. I might not have the time or the strength to lift my hand in sacrificial service, but I am okay. I might not be able to see a way out of my trouble, but I am okay. I am not destroyed and I will not be destroyed.

I am okay because Jesus loves me. I am okay because this world is not my final home. I am okay because I am fully forgiven and accepted. I am okay because I am never alone.

No, I refuse to say that everything is wonderful when I don’t feel that way. I have to be honest and admit to my pain or my struggle. But I also know that I am okay . . . and I want you to know that as well.

In 1870, Horatio and Anna Spafford lost their only son to scarlet fever. The next year, Spafford lost almost all his financial assets in the Chicago fire. Then, in 1873, Mrs. Spafford and their four daughters left for Europe while Horatio stayed back to try to recover some of his business. The ship had an accident and the four Spafford girls drowned. Only Mrs. Spafford survived.

Out of that series of tragedies, came the words to a wonderful song, “It Is Well with My Soul.” It was Horatio Spafford’s way of telling people, including himself, that he was okay.

 

I am okay

Jesus loves me

He will never leave me nor let me go

I am safe in Him

I am okay

 

 

8 Comments

Filed under Words of Grace

8 responses to “I am okay

  1. Fellow Survivor

    May the Peace of the Lord be with you, Pastor Dave.

  2. Administrator

    Thank you for this post.

    As usual, the timing of God’s assurances are gracefully *perfect*. Just this morning i was tearfully singing this very song to myself in the shower. It’s the best place to cry, because tears get to be invisible except to the One who cares the deepest and knows the MOST.

    * * * *3 s t r a n d s t u d i o . c o m *

    610.291.8286

  3. When sorrows like sea billows roll;
    Whatever my lot, Thou hast taught me to say,
    “It is well, it is well with my soul.”

    I thought I knew that. I had no idea how much more those sorrows would roll. I’m having to learn to say it again now, at a much, much deeper level than I ever imagined when I first thought I understood it. Wave after wave of those sorrows.

    • UnForsaken

      Repol, I had a horrable time of sorrow a while ago and remember feeling much as you do – wow, I thought I understood.

      Something I’ve discovered is that God’s truth just gets deeper and deeper. So even as pain seems stronger than you expect, the Gladness when it comes will be too. This earth can’t hold His powerful lessons, so I think we will always be having our eyes opened, until the day we die and we are perfect in heaven with Him.

      Today His goodness suprizes me in ways I thought I understood, and the joy is greater for having those bad experiences. Pray you will feel the same with time!

    • Penny

      Repol~just checking in to say I continue to pray for you, often at night when sleep won’t come & I know that God is prompting me to pray in those moments. Please know so many of us here care deeply. I have missed PK lately….haven’t seen any posts from her recently & hope she is alright. Hugs~

      • UnForsaken

        Penny, have been praying for many here the last several weeks, and your name is among them. I’ve missed PK too, and have esp. felt her and you, Repol, on my heart. Sometimes I start worrying….a great signal to start praying! It is a comfort to me to know our Father is with you all, and comforting you!

  4. I am okay—I am safe in Him. I feel so much heart just saying that. Believing it gives me warmth.

  5. Susan McAllister

    I really appreciate your “narcissistic Friday” posts. So insightful and well-written. I’ve not seen this valuable information anywhere else. Thank you.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

