I am Alive!

Words of Grace  

 

One of my favorite signs is one I saw in Woolworth’s quite a few years ago. It was right behind the cashier at the checkout. It said, “Would all the employees who have died please lie down?” I confess that I found it both funny and terribly demeaning toward the employees.

On the other hand, I would understand those employees who felt dead. Same old job at the same old place with the same old people. No energy. No enthusiasm. No life. I hope most of you don’t feel that way today, but I’d bet that you have felt that way at times. You get up and go because you are supposed to. You smile and you do what is expected. Some days that’s pretty much all you get.

Then we hear the message of the cross and the Resurrection and we remember the truth. He who was dead has conquered death for us. He is alive and we are alive in Him. When Jesus rose from the dead, we rose from the dead. Those who trust in Him share His life.

Everything has changed in Jesus. You see, apart from Jesus we were dead. There was no life in us. Those times we felt alive contributed nothing to our real state and, no matter what motivational speaker we listened to, we were still dead—and we felt it.

But in Jesus our universe has changed. Because He is alive, we are alive. Those times we feel dead do nothing to change the fact that we are alive. No matter who tells us differently, even the whispers in our own hearts, we are still alive—and we know it.

Coming off the celebration of the Resurrection, I shout to the world, “I am alive!” Nothing can take my life away. Not the drudgery of the daily grind or the discouragement of troubled relationships or the oppression of authority or the attack of the evil one—nothing. No one will snatch me out of Jesus’ hand. The world around me may be dying, but I am alive . . . and I will be forever.

 

I am alive!

Jesus is my life forever.

Nothing can take away the life He has given me.

Whatever I feel or whatever happens,

I am alive!

2 Comments

Filed under Relationship, Theology and mystery, Words of Grace

2 responses to “I am Alive!

  1. Virginia

    This encouraging post reminds me of one of my favorite Bible verses: “…being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.” (Phil 1:6). When it looks like everything has gone backwards, when it looks like nothing is happening, when it looks like all hope is lost – Christ, who began a good work in me, is alive in me and will carry my spiritual growth on to completion until the day that I see Christ face to face. And I have seen that truth in action over and over in my life. Looking back, the times of darkness and drudgery were important preparation times before a new level of growth or opportunity. He is alive in us, no matter how things appear. That provides hope beyond measure that no one or no thing in this world can provide!

  2. UnForsaken

    Excellent, Virginia! I LOvE your verse!

    My Easter was an unusual one, and I was able to remember the True life God gave much better for it. I spent the day quietly at home, when I would usually be at church ( for me: pomp I find distracting to worship). I had the flu! Well, what better way to remember that what I feel now will be only for a time!

    Irony always gives me a chuckle when I’m up to it, and this time I was given a peace and Joy as I began to feel better, knowing He had worked out everything for His good. There are times when all of us feel – quite justifiably – dead, or at least miserable. But He is our life, and even if we don’t feel it at the time, He has greater things in store. It was a very physical lesson, but I hope I can remember it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

