Logic

(I will be traveling and internet will be less available for the next couple of weeks. Please enjoy these posts from the archives. It’s Narcissist Friday posts will continue with new posts during this time. Thanks for being here!)

 

Suppose I were to posit that all dogs eat dog food. What if I then suggested that you could become a dog by eating dog food? Would that work for you? Of course not. We understand that many things can eat dog food. Crows will eat it. Kids will sometimes eat it. Skunks will eat it. But eating dog food doesn’t make someone or something a dog.

Simple logic. Most of us use it every day to keep us from foolish errors.

But if I go to church and hear a sermon my logical defenses may break down. I am tempted to trust the words of the preacher. For example: Paul was a great man for God. Paul served with great sacrifice. Therefore if I serve with great sacrifice, I will be a great man for God. God loved Moses and Moses accomplished great things. Moses left the comforts of life. Therefore if I leave the comforts of life, God will love me and I will accomplish great things. Many preachers are guilty of making these connections and many listeners eagerly accept this kind of teaching as being helpful in living the right kind of life. After all, why are we told about these people if not for us to use their lives as examples? Right?

Well, not that kind of example. Paul was a great man for God – because God chose to do great things through him. God loved Moses and God chose to work mighty things through Moses’ life. These things are not the result of effort or wisdom from these men. The amazing events of their lives are the result of the choice and activity of God.

That’s grace!

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under Church, grace, Relationship, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Logic

  1. It’s so easy to fall into that “performance spirituality” mindset, but what a trap it is. Thanks for the reminder.

    • Meg, good to hear from you again. Yes, you are certainly right. In fact, it is easy for me to fall into it. That mindset comes so naturally. It is what we were taught, and it is what the flesh likes. I am grateful for the Spirit’s nudging and for the people in my life who know the truth and are willing to keep me on track.

      Dave

      • Amen, Dave. If I were left to my own devices, without that kind but insistent nudging, I could easily forget the true definition of God’s grace.

  2. I am so glad that I stumbled across this blog. There is a lot of what I call biblical illiteracy in the church that twists the arms of its members.

Leave a Reply

