It’s all ours!

Imagine inheriting a beautiful estate, fully furnished, in the location of your dreams. The house is massive, full of rooms and treasures. There are outbuildings and what seems to be unending land with fields, trees, water, and paths. It’s all yours.

The caretaker welcomes you to your new home and offers to show you around. He wisely shows you just the places you will need and then leaves you to discover the wonders of the rest on your own. At any time, you can call on him for help or information; but he understands the special pleasure you will have in discovering these things on your own.

Something like that happens when we first enter into the knowledge of grace. We are told the basics, but there will be a lifetime of discovering the wonders and privileges of our relationship with Jesus.

This is the kind of experience I have had as I have learned about grace. I read the Scriptures and pray and more is opened almost every day. I read and listen to people who understand and am in awe of the new treasures I find. Some of the things I could see faintly, but when I looked closely I found them even more wonderful than I had thought. Some of the things I could almost expect as I reasoned through what I already knew, but some were amazing surprises.

You and I are loved by the Lord God Almighty. He has done all that is necessary for us to be with Him forever. He has provided, through our relationship with Him, everything we need for life and godliness. Jesus is our Friend. He is with us and He will never let us go. The rest of our lives will be spent learning more and more about what all of that means. As we learn, we will see more truth and feel more freedom and peace with every new day.

Perhaps it is true that we will never fully understand the grace of God in this world, but we are on our way. We listen and watch and more is revealed all the time. And we don’t have to distort the Scriptures or make up new doctrines or ideas. Instead, we will discover the beauty of the things that were plain all the time, except that we were not able to see them. We didn’t realize they were ours.

The old song says, “Every day with Jesus is sweeter than the day before!” I am beginning to understand.

6 Comments

Filed under Freedom, grace, Relationship, Theology and mystery, Uncategorized

6 responses to “It’s all ours!

  1. Penny

    A very wise friend recently relayed the story of a young woman in her prayer group who said, “I realize I have been eating leftovers, or sometimes even garbage, because I didn’t understand that I was invited to eat at the banquet table.” Most of us enjoy being invited to a beautiful banquet; we don’t have to prepare the meal or cook or clean up or even set the table. We can’t buy it or pay for it, b/c it’s already paid. It’s all done for us, and we just need to accept it for the gift that it is, an then enjoy it. Perhaps that is why salvation is often compared to a feast. “It’s all ours”. So true. Thanks, Dave.

  2. Kathy

    it’s all ours!! I don’t care if I got handed a broom and told to sweep the crumbs from under the table — I want in!!!
    It will be glorious!!

  3. Jennifer

    “I have come home at last! This is my real country! I belong here. This is the land I have been looking for all my life, though I never knew it till now…Come further up, come further in!”
    ― C.S. Lewis, The Last Battle

  4. Kathy

    And chocolate. Lots of chocolate. 🙂

  5. UnForsaken

    This post came at just the right time. You know, when you’re beginning to feel very tender and unresponsive ( to any person )? Dryly amused, I told my sister this weekend ” Well, I’ve have enough mind/emotional manipulation today!” , and she completely agreed. It had “nothing” to do with my N – it was another one. However, I wouldn’t be around this other N at all by my own choice, so it comes full circle and emotionally too close for comfort. Also, once again it wasn’t directed only at me ( obviously, in a sermon ), but it was meant for Anyone who fit the shoe……and it was terribly unbiblical!

    To be completely accepted, to feel the affection and immortal loyalty that God has towards His adopted, is Wonderfully Healing! When I come away from something feeling as if I’ve been beaten over the head with a board, I know it is important to be reminded that God is NOT like that. He is our refuge and very present in hard times. While walking through a shadow, I have need to remember to look up although I do not feel Him there. He IS there. He IS faithful. He IS always Himself – on the side of the ‘right’ He created. He IS like no other. And He Has prepared a feast!

  6. His Beloved

    Hi! I really enjoyed this posting. I am care giver for my 84 year old N Mother. She has been verbally abusive of me my entire 50 years of living. My love language is words of encouragement, so this abuse has been a real killer for me. I never truly felt loved by her. Well, it wasn’t until recently that God put on my heart that I needed to understand Grace. So, I did a study on Grace and it really changed my perspective. My Mother normally calls me names or tells me to go you know where. Well, one day I was in her room collecting her food tray from her table. She said to me “If you want to, you can turn my table.” I said “What if I don’t want to.” Her reply “Then you are just a Bitch.” Well normally this would have deeply hurt me, but I stopped and prayed and reminded myself of God’s Love for me. I took the tray out the room and came back in and turned her table for her. As I turned the table I said to her “It is a good thing that I Love you.”
    She said “What?” I said it again “It is a good thing that I Love you.” There was silence for a moment. Then she said “Why, because of all the awful names I call you?” I simply said “Yes” and left the room.
    That night when I got her ready for bed, She apologized to me for the first time in my entire life. God is so Good! Thank you Jesus!

Leave a Reply

