Walking in Grace

Someone asked me about walking in grace, whether that is our responsibility or His.  An interesting question.  We can certainly make the idea of grace into something dependent on our performance, can’t we?  Here’s my answer:

 I believe that the whole teaching of grace is about what God does: in us, with us, through us, and for us.  To walk in grace means to walk dependent upon Him, knowing and enjoying the fact that He is the One who accomplishes all good things in me.  2 Peter 1:3 puts it simply for us as it says that He has given us “all things that pertain to life and godliness.”  To me, that means that even the walk is from Him.

My only spiritual goal is to know Him and His love for me.  That’s what Paul said in 1 Cor. 2:2; Phil 3:10; and that’s what he prays for us in Ephesians 3:14-19. If my focus is on Him, and I ask Him even for that, then grace flows to me in every way and my heart is filled with His peace. (Isaiah 26:3)

So, I believe that He gives us grace, as He gives us all good things, and that the very best we can do is walk with Him in loving relationship.  The gospel isn’t about how well we perform or how we avoid sin.  The gospel is about Jesus – who He is and what He has done.

But what does that look like in everyday life?  Do I have to get up in the morning and set my mind on Him, reminding myself to pray as often as possible, reading His Word in large doses several times throughout the day, and then scold myself at the end of the day for not focusing on Him enough?  I don’t think so.  Instead, I trust that He will reveal Himself to me throughout the day and, as He does, I enjoy Him and thank Him and express wonder at His amazing love for me.  I understand that He is always near to me and I can talk with Him at any time.  I ask Him questions and trust that He will answer me, sometimes quickly and sometimes after a while.  I believe that He cares about the needs of my day and I watch for His leading.  When I get distracted by the struggles or temptations, I know that His love for me has not changed and I can quickly and easily look to Him again.  Because I know that there is no condemnation, I give to Him any anxiety or guilt that I feel and thank Him for assuring my future with Him.  It’s all about what He does.

 dave@gracefortheheart.org

3 Comments

Filed under Freedom, grace, Relationship

3 responses to “Walking in Grace

  1. Thank you! I’m so glad the Christian life is all about Christ and nothing else. Grace is Amazing!

  2. This is beautiful. This truth is why I am still a Christian, and rejoicing in my relationship with Christ. 🙂

  3. So many people have left the Christian faith without ever knowing Jesus. I wish I could help them understand that it isn’t about the system. It’s about the Person!

Leave a comment